10 Keys to Connecting with Anyone

Bird Robin Colourful

 

Connecting with someone, establishing rapport, does not have to be a difficult thing, although many people find it so. Here are ten key points to remember whenever you set off to meet new people . . .

 

  1. Be happy with yourself: Much of the insecurity we feel in meeting new people has to do with how we feel about ourselves as opposed to the other person. Work hard and develop positive self-esteem.

 

  1. Act confident:  . . .  even if you’re not! Chances are the other person is as nervous as you are.

 

  1. Expect to connect: Think positive. Tell yourself that you “will” connect with people . . . and you will.

 

  1. Smile! It’s hard NOT to connect with somebody who’s cheerful and smiling.

 

  1. Notice others: Maybe “they” are smiling and cheerful. Maybe you are attracted to something they are saying or discussing, whatever. Just look for reasons to connect with people instead of excuses NOT to.

 

 

2013-07-02 14.26.26

 

 

  1. Listen: One of the greatest gifts you can give another person is to listen to them. Instead of jumping in to say something, listen a bit longer instead.

 

  1. Ask questions: Go one step further and truly take an interest in what they are talking about. Ask thoughtful questions that draw them out and focus the conversation on them.

 

  1. Connect with individuals: You can speak to, present to, teach, or train large groups, but you can only really connect with the individuals in that group. Emphasize this aspect of your communication and build those one-on-one connections.

 

  1. Be willing to compromise: Meeting new people or working with new people invariably means running into positions, opinions, and practices you don’t agree with. If you want to build the relationship, expect to compromise from time to time.

 

  1. Treat others as you’d like to be treated: Just to start. As you get to know each other work hard to treat them like “they” want to be treated (which may be a very different way indeed).

 

  • By Jim Allen

11 thoughts on “10 Keys to Connecting with Anyone

  1. I believe this is one of the such a lot significant information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. However wanna remark on some general
    things, The web site style is great, the articles is actually great :
    D. Just right job, cheers

    Like

  2. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff prior to and you are just
    extremely fantastic. I actually like what you’ve obtained right here, certainly like
    what you’re stating and the way in which by which you are saying it.
    You are making it entertaining and you still care for to stay it sensible.
    I can not wait to learn far more from you. That is actually a wonderful web site.

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks,
    However I am encountering problems with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I cannot join it. Is there
    anybody else having identical RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

    Like

  4. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Like

  5. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us
    so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving
    the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Great blog and amazing design.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.